All Saints had its beginnings in a small building in Grove Road, Burgess Hill in 1858 and was put in trust as a Congregational Church. The congregation grew and in 1872 a ‘tin’ chapel was erected on the present site in Junction Road.
The foundation stone of the present building with its Tuscan style pillars was laid in October 1881. The church building was opened in June 1882 at a cost of £2000 and seated some 350 people. A hall was added during the 1914-18 war.
According to Wikipedia, John Betjeman thought the church was Burgess Hill’s only decent piece of architecture!
The interior of the church worship area was altered in 2001; the pews removed and chairs, toilets and a kitchen added to make the building relevant for the 21st Century.
The new stained-glass windows were designed by Clifford G. Durrant & Son, glass artists from Horsham and depict some of the symbols of the Christian faith on a blue background.
The original architects of the church brought in boat builders from Shoreham to design and make the beautiful wooden ceiling, which make the building a wonderful place for concerts and experience the worship of God.